top of page



Vanuatu is a South Pacific Ocean nation made up of 80 plus islands. Multiple waves of colonisers, each speaking a distinct language, migrated to the New Hebrides in the millennia preceding European exploration in the 18th century.

The British and French, who settled the New Hebrides in the 19th century, agreed in 1906 to an Anglo-French Condominium, which administered the islands until independence in 1980, when the new name of Vanuatu was adopted.

The Vanuatu economy is primarily based on small-scale agriculture, which provides a living for about two-thirds of the population. Fishing, offshore financial services, and tourism, are other mainstays of the economy. 

The islands of Vanuatu offer scuba diving at incredible coral reefs, underwater caverns and ship wrecks. Hiking trails ascend active volcanoes such as Mt. Yasur.

Other popular activities include rainforest ecotours, kayaking and deep-sea fishing, plus relaxing at resorts and spas.

CAPITAL: Port Villa
CURRENCY: Vanuatu Vatu
POPULATION: 300,000 (2020)
GEOGRAPHY: 4 main islands & 80 smaller islands
POINTS OF INTEREST: Mount Yasur, Iriki & Champagne Beach
LANGUAGES: 3 official languages, French, English & Bislama
RELIGION: 80%+ of the Vanuatu population are Christian

bottom of page